Because everyone is entitled to my opinion.  Welcome to A Dream of Sky!

name: will baker
dob: 3.15.1974
age: 31
height: 6'1"
weight: 240 lbs.
race: caucasian
birth: joplin, mo
residence: san antonio, tx
high school: john marshall
college: utsa
occupation: i.t. manager
religion: anglican christian
sign: pisces

blogrollin'
digby
billmon
rising hegemon
gonzography
the daily howler
fafblog
eschaton
idiot milk
12% beer
betabitch
invinciblegirl
leebozeebo
michael berube
bagnews notes
arianna
rox populi
adventus
no capital
echidne

other sites:
moveon.org
democracy for america
slashdot
center for american progress
the revealer

auto de fey
2003-08-07 : 3:34 p.m.

For those of you not yet aware of the latest developments in my hellish life, my truck died last weekend.

I was driving out to Boerne to have Sunday dinner with my parents when the engine overheated. I pulled over, popped the hood, and was totally mystified. The coolant was fine, the oil was fine, the belts were all fine. So I let it cool down and decided to try to get to a gas station or something. Naturally, as soon as I got back on the road, the �check engine� light came on, and there was a horrible prolapsed sort of clanking noise from under the hood. I suspected that my water pump was ill, if not dead. So I pulled back over and reached for my cell phone, which was naturally dead. The �batter� needed �electricity� to �function�. *sigh*

So, I walked two miles to a service station and called AAA, who towed the poor Rodeo to a mechanic our family uses in Boerne. Two days later, he calls me to give me the exciting news: there�s water in the oil! That can really only mean a blown head gasket or a cracked head, and either way, I was looking at about $1500 in repairs. Oh, plus replacing the thermostat and the water pump.

So naturally, I was feeling totally suicidal. I mean, the truck probably isn�t worth $1500 at this point. And since my various misdoings back in my drinking days didn�t exactly leave me with the best of credit, I fall into an interest rate category that auto finance experts refer to as �totally fucking screwed�, so the idea of a car payment didn�t really appeal to me.

My friend Dino saved my ass by being kind enough to give me a ride to work. And it doesn't hurt that he's a total cutie, and funny, and smart, and just generally brightens my morning and makes me smile. But still, I can't expect him to carry my ass around forever, so the original conundrum was weighing pretty heavily on my mind.

However, there is a light at the end of this tunnel. I just talked to my mom, and my parents have decided to give me the perfectly nice Lumina that they were about to trade in. Give. They rock so hard.

So, this month�s suicidal episode is now officially at an end. Huzzah!

Is it just me, or is the sun getting closer? It�s unnaturally hot here today. I think I�m actually melting.

design by bad monkey design works, copyright 2005 - all rights reserved
this site is optimized for FireFox 1.0, because Explorer is for mouth-breathers.


Get Firefox!Valid HTML 4.01!