Because everyone is entitled to my opinion.  Welcome to A Dream of Sky!

name: will baker
dob: 3.15.1974
age: 31
height: 6'1"
weight: 240 lbs.
race: caucasian
birth: joplin, mo
residence: san antonio, tx
high school: john marshall
college: utsa
occupation: i.t. manager
religion: anglican christian
sign: pisces

blogrollin'
digby
billmon
rising hegemon
gonzography
the daily howler
fafblog
eschaton
idiot milk
12% beer
betabitch
invinciblegirl
leebozeebo
michael berube
bagnews notes
arianna
rox populi
adventus
no capital
echidne

other sites:
moveon.org
democracy for america
slashdot
center for american progress
the revealer

it hurts to thinnk
2004-02-20 : 10:18 a.m.

Grant-writing season. I�d heard it was horrible, but little did I know. We�re working on a huge Ryan White CARE Act grant proposal, the RFP for which is insanely complicated. It�s basically like writing 18 grants and putting them together. Many jobs at my agency depend on this grant, and since the RFP was released late, we ended up having less than a month to write for it. By �we� I mean the Executive Director, myself, and the other three managers. Naturally, any given day brings each of us quite a bit more than eight hours worth of work, so we decided that we would stay until at least midnight every Tuesday and Thursday for three weeks to have time to work just on the grant.

Last night, the team stayed until 2 AM. I could already sense that if I went to sleep that late, I wouldn�t be able to get up in the morning�so I brilliantly decided to stay awake all night. Since today is our all-day Agency Staff Meeting, I knew that I had to stay awake or miss the meeting. So I stayed here and worked on some grant documents, researched Linux distributions, and started setting up a Debian server on a test machine. I drank coffee and smoked cigarettes and downloaded tracks from the Cowboy Bebop soundtrack albums.

And now I feel like death warmed over (and warmed over lightly at that). I can�t WAIT for this day to be over, so I can go home and crash.

God my brain hurts.

It hurts sooo bad.

design by bad monkey design works, copyright 2005 - all rights reserved
this site is optimized for FireFox 1.0, because Explorer is for mouth-breathers.


Get Firefox!Valid HTML 4.01!