Because everyone is entitled to my opinion.  Welcome to A Dream of Sky!

name: will baker
dob: 3.15.1974
age: 31
height: 6'1"
weight: 240 lbs.
race: caucasian
birth: joplin, mo
residence: san antonio, tx
high school: john marshall
college: utsa
occupation: i.t. manager
religion: anglican christian
sign: pisces

blogrollin'
digby
billmon
rising hegemon
gonzography
the daily howler
fafblog
eschaton
idiot milk
12% beer
betabitch
invinciblegirl
leebozeebo
michael berube
bagnews notes
arianna
rox populi
adventus
no capital
echidne

other sites:
moveon.org
democracy for america
slashdot
center for american progress
the revealer

"Server"
2004-01-07 : 5:56 p.m.

Okay, one of my �servers� just died. Well, not died, exactly, but services like NetLogon mysteriously stop working. And that just won�t do.

I say �server� because it�s a decrepit Dell Dimension desktop from like 1996 with Windows NT Server 4 running on it. Naturally, they have a mission-critical shared application running on this tired old nag. And now it�s dying.

So it looks like I�ll be staying late. Again.

I don�t understand how IT infrastructure decisions were made here in the past. All of the newer computers are totally phat, but the network server is a crumbling, dustbunny-infected piece of crap. About a month ago, I took a spare PC with a decent Pentium 4 and a reasonable amount of memory, crammed a couple spare hard drives into it, and made it into a server. It�s currently functioning as a Backup Domain Controller, but tonight, it�s getting a big promotion. It will also begin hosting the aforementioned mission-critical network application. I can�t depend on the old server to do anything but maybe be a BDC for the domain.

Would anyone care to donate a $4000 for a decent server for a good cause?

*sigh*

In other news�oh wait, there is no other news. All I do is work.

This is day 7 of my latest attempt at becoming a non-smoker. I think I actually might make it this time. The cravings are fierce, but they come less and less frequently. I�m using Nicoderm CQ, and it helps�though it helps more in the morning than in the evenings, when my cravings have a lot to do with habituation and �ritual� smoking (after dinner, with coffee, driving home, etc.).

Wish me luck.

design by bad monkey design works, copyright 2005 - all rights reserved
this site is optimized for FireFox 1.0, because Explorer is for mouth-breathers.


Get Firefox!Valid HTML 4.01!