Because everyone is entitled to my opinion.  Welcome to A Dream of Sky!

name: will baker
dob: 3.15.1974
age: 31
height: 6'1"
weight: 240 lbs.
race: caucasian
birth: joplin, mo
residence: san antonio, tx
high school: john marshall
college: utsa
occupation: i.t. manager
religion: anglican christian
sign: pisces

blogrollin'
digby
billmon
rising hegemon
gonzography
the daily howler
fafblog
eschaton
idiot milk
12% beer
betabitch
invinciblegirl
leebozeebo
michael berube
bagnews notes
arianna
rox populi
adventus
no capital
echidne

other sites:
moveon.org
democracy for america
slashdot
center for american progress
the revealer

how about it?
2004-07-20 : 10:29 p.m.

How about no longer being masochistic?
How about remembering your divinity?
How about unabashedly bawling your eyes out?

I haven�t left my office before 10PM for well over two weeks (including Saturdays and Sundays). It�s 10:24 PM, and I�m here. I will probably go entirely without sleep for the next two days, as I am personally and solely responsible for submitting a grant proposal to the Centers for Disease Control on Thursday morning. On Friday, I will be training our collaborators on the use of a new web application for reporting intervention data from our other new CDC grant. Oh, and I�m also the software developer for the aforementioned web application, which means that I�m building a massive database and learning ASP.NET programming on the fly. While I�m in the middle of doing a massive program evaluation of our TDH-funded testing program. And helping another manager write a grant proposal for the federal Office of Minority Health, which is due Aug. 5th. I have been functioning on an average of 4 hours of sleep per night for the past week or so.

Nevertheless, I have found time to meet with Troy Tamez regarding the Grants Committee at the Diversity Center. He is working on the Hogg Foundation proposal, and was going to take a stab at the Macy�s Passport Fund grant, despite the fact that it�s due next week. I am working on a project design and logic model for an SBC Excellerator proposal that will request the maximum available funding for a computer lab and an innovative job skills enhancement program to address the severe problems of under-education and downward socioeconomic mobility among young people of color (specifically GLBT in our case) in San Antonio. We also had a long discussion and research session (which began at 10PM) the other night about diversifying our funding sources to include cultural and arts funding that can help the center become more involved in democratic renewal.

And frankly, I�m thinking a lot lately about the way the non-profit sector can be terminally parasitic on the goodwill of the people who work within it. And I�m thinking a lot about the way we all worship busyness and exhaustion as badges of honor. I�m less and less impressed with the fact that I have no life, just work and commitments. I don�t feel honored to be working myself to death for very little money, and then working myself to death again for my various volunteer activities. I feel like a chump, badly used, and a man of 30 whose life is passing him by while he goes to long, windy meetings all day and stays up all night writing grant proposals and computer code (on alternating nights). My family wonders where I am. My boyfriend wonders where I am. I used to take Tyler Durden�s line (from �Fight Club�) � �You are not your job!� � as a personal motto. But then I realized, oops, it looks like I am nothing more than my job and my volunteer commitments, so now my motto is�what? �Nothing is ever good enough� would probably be most fitting right now.

Does this sound like a big bitch-a-thon? If so, I�m sorry. I�m not bitching, so much as�wondering. Is this it? I�m certainly grateful to have a full life, but is this really as good as it gets? Surely there�s a way to be useful and also happy. I really want to find that balance, because as matters stand, all I can think about is dropping everything and driving to Merida. Maybe to stay.

Painfully hilarious postscript: I just checked my stats page, and noticed that someone found this site by doing a google search for "domestic violence blogger". Yeah. Domestic violence blogger. You realize, of course, that as soon as I log off, I'm making a t-shirt that says that.

design by bad monkey design works, copyright 2005 - all rights reserved
this site is optimized for FireFox 1.0, because Explorer is for mouth-breathers.


Get Firefox!Valid HTML 4.01!